Walking Tours Start Today!

Participants on a 2012 Historic Portland Walking Tour check out the statue of John Ford.

Participants on a 2012 Historic Portland Walking Tour check out the statue of John Ford.

Maine Historical Society’s Historic Portland Walking Tours program enters its second season as of today. It has been refocused to vividly depict events and scenery from Portland’s past. Areas discussed include Congress Street, Monument Square, Post Office Park, Exchange Street, Fore Street, Boothby Square and Commercial Street.

Tours begin at 1:30 pm daily from June 17th to September 30th. This is a guided, weather-permitting tour limited to approximately 12 people. Tickets are $10 and include admission to MHS’s new museum exhibit (opening June 28) This Rebellion: Maine and the Civil War. For a combo Walking Tour/Longfellow House Tour, tickets are $15.

For questions please call the Museum Store: (207) 774-1822.

One thought on “Walking Tours Start Today!

  1. MaryAnn Morin says:

    I would love to go on the walking tour but I have planta in heel of my foot and can’t walk any distance. Would you have a wheel chair available? My
    great grandfather was in the the Civil War and I wonder if you have info
    Gilbert P. Powers. I have two pictures of my great-grand father and great grand mother in a ladies group and wonder if I brought them in could you tell me what the group was? I am a member. Thank you MaryAnn Morin

Leave a Reply

