A Message from MHS Executive Director Richard D’Abate

Dear Friends,

Come May of next year I will be retiring as executive director of Maine Historical Society. I’ve been at the helm for over 16 years and I think the time for new leadership has come.

It’s been a rewarding and demanding position: wonderful friends, major challenges, and opportunities at every step. We’ve made real progress, but of course there are plenty of challenges ahead–plenty of room for big ideas as well. I guess that’s the way it should to be.

I’m proud of what Maine Historical has accomplished during my tenure–major projects like the restoration of the Longfellow House and Garden, the development of Maine Memory Network, and the renovation and expansion of the Brown Library. I am equally proud of the ways MHS has found to touch and serve communities in every corner of the state. None of this would have been possible without a dedicated board and a talented staff deeply committed to the state and its history.

As to the transition of leadership, it should be a smooth one. The opening for a new director will be announced shortly, and the Board of Trustees will name my successor in the early part of next year. I will leave at the end of May. In the meantime, it’s business as usual.

I want to thank you for all the encouragement and friendship you’ve shown me over the years–and all the support you’ve given to MHS. My sense is that we have just seen the beginning of what Maine Historical can be and do. Let’s make its future success our common goal.

Sincerely,

Richard

Leave a Reply

